21st Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament Held

August 30th, 2012 by fruthpharmacy
Scholarship Golf Tournament

Lynne Fruth, President and Chairman of the Board, thanks participating businesses during the opening of Fruth Pharmacy’s 21st Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament. Local and area businesses donated over $50,000 to local scholarship funds.

RAVENSWOOD, West Virginia (August 2, 2012) – Fruth Pharmacy held its 21st Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament on August 2ndat the Greenhills Country Club in Ravenswood.  Thirty-six teams came out to play in support of area youth.

Many businesses and vendors donated supplies, food, prizes, money, time, and more.  Fruth employees from various stores and the corporate office also contributed money and time in order to provide funds for scholarships to area colleges.

“It is a pleasure to do business with individuals and companies committed to community service and support of higher education opportunities.” Lynne Fruth, President and Chairman of the Board, stated during the opening of the tournament.

Community-minded golfers were treated to a day of fun on the course with lots of laughter and good sportsmanship.  Golfers received a packed lunch, goody bags, and door prizes throughout the day. Participants were also able to bid on items at a silent auction.  Following the tournament, a dinner was held inside the clubhouse with prizes being awarded for Longest Putt, Closest to Pin, Long Drive, Putting Contest, Chipping Contest, and more.

Proceeds from the 21stAnnual Scholarship Golf Tournament will fund scholarships at Marshall University, West Virginia University, Ohio State University, University of Rio Grande, University of Charleston School of Pharmacy, and Ohio University Southern.

Scholarship winners Darci Bissell, Amy Barr, and Austin Rooper helped work the Putting and Chipping Contest during the tournament.

2012 Fruth Scholarship Recipients: Kelly Wickline, Nicole Farabaugh, Katelyn Andrews of WVU; Wesley Davis of Marshall-MOVC; Darci Bissell of University of Rio Grande; Tiffany Henderson, Gregory Austin Rooper, Megan Worley, Jocelyn Russell, Justin Bowe, Michael Blake, Rachel Sayre of Marshall University; Wesley Davis of Parkersburg Community Foundation; Amy Barr, Ginger Vance of University of Charleston; Leah Brown, Shane Wagner of Ohio State University.

If you are a business that would like to participate in next year’s tournament, please contact Fruth Pharmacy at (304) 675-1612.  If you are interested in Fruth Pharmacy’s scholarship programs please visit our website at http://www.fruthpharmacy.com.  For a list of prize winners, please visit Fruth Pharmacy’s blog at http://fruthpharmacy.wordpress.com.  Photo albums from this event will also be posted to Fruth Pharmacy’s Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *