Fruth Pharmacy 19th Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament

August 5th, 2010 by fruthpharmacy

Fruth Pharmacy held its Nineteenth Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament at the Greenhills Country Club in Ravenswood, West Virginia. The golf tournament was an all day event that began at 8:00 am. During the tournament, Fruth provided everyone with breakfast, lunch, a delicious dinner, and plenty of snacks and cold drinks throughout the day.  More than 140 golfers attended this event.  The tournament is sponsored by Fruth Pharmacy with the help of many business partners and suppliers. The event is completely run by Fruth Pharmacy employees who volunteer to work the event each year.  More than 30 employee work each year to help host this wonderful event.  Lynne Fruth was quick to point out the contribution of the Fruth employees, who were all dressed in blue crew shirts.  “Without the hard work of our great employees and their dedication to this tournament, we would not be able to hold this event every year.  These are the folks who get things done.”

The annual golf tournament helps fund the Fruth Pharmacy Scholarship Program. The scholarship program supports scholarships for students at Marshall University, University of Rio Grande, West Virginia University School of Pharmacy and the University of Charleston School of Pharmacy. This year’s recipients of Fruth Pharmacy scholarships from Marshall University were: Justin Bowe, Chelsea Dempsey, Justin Duckworth, Krysta Jenkins, Katherine Lawrence and Jocelyn Russell.  Darcy Bissell received a scholarship to Rio Grande University.  These seven students are all Fruth Pharmacy employees or the children of Fruth employees.  Scholarship winners, Darcy Bissell, Jocelyn Russell and Katherine Lawrence were on hand at the golf tournament to greet the players and help with the many activities.  Danielle Lloyd and James Douglas Thornton were the recipients of the Pharmacy scholarships from West Virginia University.  University of Charleston School of Pharmacy will announce their scholarship winner later this year.  In all, Fruth Pharmacy and the Fruth family sponsor 19 scholarships each year.


“This tournament is a great opportunity for everyone to have a fun time and to support our young people in their pursuit of higher education.” said Lynne Fruth, Chairman of Fruth Inc.  Fruth Pharmacy has been in business for 58 years starting locally and has grown to a regional chain ranked in the top 25 in the country.  “Years ago, my parents saw the value in higher education as a way of giving back to the communities we serve.  One of the best ways to impact a community is to help educate the young people in that area.” Throughout the day, teams participated in many contests, including Chipping Contest, Women’s Longest Drive, Men’s Longest Drive, Putting Contest, Closest to the Pin and Split the Pot 50/50.  A huge thunderstorm interrupted play, but it did not dampen the spirits of the golfers.  Prizes were awarded in a random drawing.

1st Place Team – Fruth Pharmacy Pharmacists and Interns: Zack Tennant, Daniel Brainard, Ryan Young, Shawn Taylor.
Each won a new driver.

2nd Place Team – Sandy Robinson – Fruth Pharmacy, Frank Barazda – Labelle News Agency, Doug Davis and  Kirk Vasselman
– American Greetings. Each won a wedge.

3rd Place Team – Brian Elsea – Crowe, Adam Sanger – Corporate Identity, Inc., Ellen Potter and Brian Bibey – Jim Liveley
Insurance.  Each received a new putter.

4th Place Team – Broughton’s Foursome.  Each received a pull cart.

5th Place Team – SouthCo. Foursome.  Each received golf balls.

More Winner Photos

Individual Prize Winners Were:

Carole Gatewood – Closest to the Pin
Sandy Gallagher – Women’s Longest Drive
Lee Scott – Men’s Longest Drive
Tim Duty – Winner of the Putting Contest – Cash prize
Tim Kinsey – Winner of the Chipping Contest won a 32” Flat screen TV set

August 10, 2010, Hundreds of golfers turn out for Fruth tourney
Reported by Roger Adkins, The Jackson Herald.
Read Full Story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *