Fruth Pharmacy 20th Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament

November 7th, 2011 by fruthpharmacy


Jack Fruth founded Fruth Pharmacy in 1952 to be a family and community-oriented business. Over 50 years after its founding, Fruth Pharmacy still demonstrates its commitment to giving back to the community. Education was always a major focus of Jack and Frances Fruth, who met when they were in college at Ohio State University. Through the Fruth Scholarship program, the spirit of generosity that Jack Fruth embodied lives on today.

Each year, Fruth Pharmacy holds an annual golf tournament to contribute funds to the over 20 scholarships that they sponsor per year. (A full list of scholarships can be seen at “The golf tournament is primarily to raise awareness and funds for scholarships,” said Lynne Fruth, President of Fruth Pharmacy, “but it’s also a really fun way for our store and corporate employees and sponsors to interact with each other.” Employees from all stores and the corporate headquarters come together every summer to make the golf tournament happen.

Fruth Pharmacy held their 20th Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament at Green Hills Country Club near Ravenswood, WV. A total of 154 golfers participated in this year’s event and over $50,000 was raised to support the Fruth Scholarships. On hand were representatives from Marshall University, Ohio State University, and West Virginia University, including MU President Dr. Stephen Kopp, UC President Dr. Edwin Welch and Pharmacy Deans form many of the schools. Fruth welcomed participants from the Pharmacy industry from across the country, including the following states: NY, FL, OH, NC, NJ, TX , MO, PA, CA, WI, IL. Executives were present from Amerisource-Bergen, Cardinal Health, and McKesson, the three largest drug wholesalers in the country.  Corporate Platinum Sponsors included Anda, Par-Med Pharmaceuticals and Cardinal Health.


Five of this year’s Fruth Scholarship recipients were on hand to be honored and participate in the day’s event. Marshall Scholars present were: Michael Blake and mother Tracey and Amanda McGhee and parents Karen and Steve McGhee. Ohio State Scholars Sara Dovyak, and Aaron Lapp, along with WVU Scholar Kayla Hetrick were also honored. The Scholars were presented special red shirts which they wore throughout the day to be easily recognized.

“This event has become an industry favorite,” said Lynne Fruth.  Fruth Pharmacy employees, dressed in purple shirts, served as the hosts for the day providing breakfast, lunch and a steak dinner following the event.  Proceeds from this year’s event will be distributed to provide additional support to the scholarships at Rio Grande University, Ohio State University, Marshall University, University of Charleston and several scholarships not designated by school. In addition, the tournament raised funds to start a new scholarship at the new Pharmacy School at Marshall University.  For a complete listing of the Fruth Scholarships, visit our website at and click on Fruth Scholarships.
The winners of the golf tournament were Chris Childress, Joe Antrilli, Joe Antrilli, Jr., and Jeff Valenta. The complete list of winners of the tournament and other contests are listed below.

1st Place – Chris Childress, Joe Antrilli, Joe Antrilli Jr and Jeff Valenta
2nd Place – Dan Earl, Craig Banford, J.H. Mahaney and Kevin Frankowich
3rd Place – Phil Manker, Tim Beavers, Adam Sanger, Ken Lacy
4th Place  – Glenn Sandgren, Kent Leonhardt, Danny Taylor, Robbie Taylor

Longest Drive Men: Phil Manker
Longest Drive Women: Terry Potts
Closest to the Pin Men: Marc Essensa
Closest to the Pin: Lynne Fruth

Winners of Flat Screen TVs:
Putting Contest winner: Phil Manker
Chipping Contest: David Chesley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *