Fruth Pharmacy Begins Annual Awards, 60th Anniversary Celebrated

November 27th, 2012 by fruthpharmacy


Point Pleasant, W.Va. – On November 15th, Fruth Pharmacy celebrated 60 years in business.  A formal “Diamond Anniversary” dinner was held at Trinity United Methodist Church to recognize the achievements of both Fruth Pharmacy and its personnel.

Joan Fruth opened the evening by sharing with guests a brief biography about her father and the start of his business.

Representatives from several West Virginia politician offices joined the celebration. Megan Shelton, from Senator Jay Rockefeller’s Office read a personal letter from Senator Rockefeller discussing his friendship with Mr. Jack Fruth and commending the company for reaching 60 years. Sean Hill, from Governor Earl Ray Tomblin’s office also read a statement of congratulations. Senator Joe Manchin’s representative, Sara Payne, expressed Senator Manchin’s apologies for not being able to attend, as well as sharing his congratulations and memories of Mr. Fruth.  Ms. Payne ended by sharing her personal connection with Fruth Pharmacy, having grown up near Fruth Pharmacy of Winfield.

To relate industry news, CDMA President, Jim DeVine, shared some insight into the pharmacy business.   He contributed stories and memories about Mr. Jack Fruth when he began Fruth Pharmacy.

A video presentation by Fruth Pharmacy’s Information Technology Director, Jeff Pitts, narrated by David Jenkins, Fruth Pharmacy’s Director of Purchasing, showcased memories over the 60 year period.  Historical photos as well as video clips and interviews were shared with the public.  Fruth Pharmacy shared many personal ups and downs.  The video included the Fruth family’s decision to stay in business after the loss of Mr. Jack Fruth.  A unanimous decision to continue in the business was made by all family members for their 600 employees.

After the video presentation, Lynne Fruth spoke to the many guests.  Lynne thanked the business partners and vendors for supporting the company for 60 years.  She also recognized her family and extended family for their continued help and support.  She then asked employees with 20 years or more of service to stand and be recognized.  Following, she had all employees stand and be recognized.

Fruth began a new tradition of a yearly award based on customer as well as peer reviews in four categories:  Associate of the Year, Technician of the Year, Manager of the Year, and Pharmacist of the Year.  Nominees included: Associate of the Year, Anita Vance, Charleston, WV, Carolyn Smith, Point Pleasant, WV, David Houck, Gallipolis, OH.  Technician of the Year, Vickie Johnson, Athens, OH, Josh Gue, Proctorville, OH, Tiffany Queen, Huntington, WV.  Manager of the Year, Penny McLaughlin, Nelsonville, OH, Paula Roe, Waverly, OH, Marc Lippert, Scott Depot and Cross Lanes, WV.  Pharmacist of the Year, Shelly Hodges, Nitro, WV, Sam Arco, Charleston, WV, and Peggy Knight, Gallipolis, OH.

Each award presenter read a summary of comments from customers and peers before presenting the yearly award.  Winning the Award for Associate of the Year was David Houck of Gallipolis, OH.  Technician of the Year, was awarded to Tiffany Queen of Huntington, WV.  Manager of the Year was awarded to Paula Roe from Waverly, OH.  Pharmacist of the Year went to Sam Arco of Charleston, WV.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *